Summer Reading Program Schedule

A Universe of Stories

Reading is out of this world!! Are you registered for our Summer Reading Program yet? If you aren't, you can register here. Registration for Summer Reading opens on May 28

During Summer Reading, we have tons of special programs and events for you to attend at the library. Click on the category of programs you want to see, and see all the special events happening this summer at branches of Shreve Memorial Library.

Summer Reading Program Guides

We created program guides for each branch that you can print out for your convenience. Click on your branch below to download the program guide for your branch.


Children's Summer Reading ProgramA Universe of Stories

Featured performers and programs for this year’s Children’s Summer Reading Program will include Cubetto's Deep Space Adventure, Dat Does the Trick, Create a Digital Space Game, Hampstead Stage presents "The Jungle Book," The Hoop Group, Little You Yoga, Professor Universe presents "Everything There Is to Know about the Universe," Sciencetellers, Walter B. Jacobs Memorial Nature Park, and Zombie Asockalypse with author Jasper Price. Check out the complete performance schedule below!

Cubetto's Deep Space Adventure

Dat Does the Trick - Outer Space Magic Show

Create a Digital Space Game

Hampstead Stage presents "The Jungle Book"

  • Atkins – Monday, July 29 at 10 a.m.
  • Gilliam – Monday, July 29 at 1 p.m.
  • North Shreveport – Monday, July 29 at 4 p.m.
  • Main – Tuesday, July 30 at 10 a.m.
  • Mooringsport – Tuesday, July 30 at 1 p.m.
  • Belcher-Wyche – Tuesday, July 30 at 3 p.m.
  • North Caddo – Wednesday, July 31 at 10 a.m.
  • Hollywood/Union Ave. – Wednesday, July 31 at 2 p.m. 

The Hoop Group

Space Yoga with Little You Yoga

  • Wallette – Tuesday, June 4 at 10 a.m.
  • Higginbotham-Bryson – Wednesday, June 5 at 10 a.m.
  • Rodessa – Wednesday, June 5 at 1 p.m.
  • Means – Wednesday, June 5 at 3 p.m.
  • North Shreveport – Thursday, June 6 at 11 a.m.
  • Atkins – Wednesday, June 12 at 10 a.m.
  • David Raines – Thursday, June 13 at 10:30 a.m.
  • Hollywood/Union Ave. – Thursday, June 20 at 2 p.m. 
  • West Shreveport – Monday, June 24 at 10 a.m.
  • Hamilton/South Caddo – Tuesday, June 25 at 10 a.m.
  • North Caddo – Wednesday, June 26 at 10 a.m.
  • Hosston – Wednesday, June 26 at 1 p.m.
  • Blanchard – Wednesday, June 26 at 3 p.m.
  • Broadmoor – Friday, June 28 at 11 a.m.
  • Cedar Grove/Line Ave. – Thursday, July 11 at 10:30 a.m.
  • Oil City – Monday, July 15 at 1 p.m.
  • Mooretown – Tuesday, July 16 at 10 a.m.
  • Main – Thursday, July 18 at 10 a.m.

Michelle's Magical Poodles

Professor Universe presents "Everything There Is to Know About the Universe"

  • Mooretown – Tuesday, July 23 at 10 a.m.
  • Mooringsport – Tuesday, July 23 at 1 p.m.
  • Belcher-Wyche Tuesday, July 23 at 3 p.m.
  • David Raines – Wednesday, July 24 at 10 a.m.
  • Rodessa – Wednesday, July 24 at 2 p.m.
  • Main – Thursday, July 25 at 10 a.m.
  • Hollywood/Union Ave. – Thursday, July 25 at 2 p.m.
  • Broadmoor – Friday, July 26 at 11 a.m.
  • Cedar Grove/Line Ave. – Friday, July 26 at 2 p.m.

Sciencetellers – Interactive Science Show

  • Atkins – Monday, July 8 at 10 a.m.
  • Gilliam – Monday, July 8 at 1 p.m.
  • North Shreveport – Monday, July 8 at 4 p.m.
  • Hamilton/South Caddo – Tuesday, July 9 at 10 a.m.
  • Cedar Grove/Line Ave. – Tuesday, July 9 at 2 p.m.
  • Mooretown – Tuesday, July 9 at 4:30 p.m.
  • David Raines – Wednesday, July 10 at 10 a.m.
  • Hollywood/Union Ave. – Wednesday, July 10 at 2 p.m.
  • Broadmoor – Wednesday, July 10 at 4:30 p.m.

Walter B. Jacobs Memorial Nature Park

  • Atkins – Monday, June 3 at 10 a.m.
  • Hamilton/South Caddo – Tuesday, June 4 at 10 a.m.
  • David Raines – Wednesday, June 5 at 10 a.m.
  • Mooringsport – Tuesday, June 11 at 1 p.m.
  • Broadmoor – Friday, June 14 at 11 a.m.
  • Oil City – Monday, June 17 at 1 p.m.
  • Wallette – Tuesday, June 18 at 10 a.m.
  • Rodessa – Wednesday, June 19 at 2 p.m.
  • Belcher-Wyche – Tuesday, June 25 at 3 p.m.
  • Higginbotham-Bryson – Wednesday, July 10 at 10 a.m.
  • Blanchard – Wednesday, July 10 at 3 p.m.
  • Hollywood/Union Ave. – Thursday, July 11 at 2 p.m.
  • Means – Friday, July 12 at 2 p.m.
  • West Shreveport – Monday, July 15 at 10 a.m.
  • Gilliam – Monday, July 15 at 3 p.m.
  • Hosston – Wednesday, July 17 at 1 p.m.
  • North Shreveport – Thursday, July 18 at 11 a.m.
  • North Caddo – Wednesday, July 24 at 10 a.m.

Zombie Asockalypse with Jasper Price


Teen Summer Reading ProgramTeen Summer Reading

Featured programs for this year’s Teen Summer Reading Program will be Meet Cue the Cleverbot, Harry Potter Kano Coding, Rocket Building with Exhibits on the Go, Make Your Own Light-Up Box, Mixed Media Space Art with Eric Francis, Raspberry Pi Retro Gaming, Retro Space Art, and Watercolor Galaxy. These programs will take place at branches throughout Caddo Parish — check out the schedule below to see when the activities will be at your branch!

Exhibits on the Go: Build a Rocket

Galaxy Art - Make Your Own Light-Up Box

  • Atkins –  Wednesday, July 10 at 3:30 p.m.
  • North Shreveport –  Thursday, July 18 at 3 p.m.
  • Main –  Tuesday, July 23 at 2 p.m.

Galaxy Art - Retro Space Art

Galaxy Art - Watercolor Galaxy Art

  • David Raines – Tuesday, July 9 at 3 p.m.
  • Rodessa – Tuesday, July 16 at 4 p.m.
  • Mooretown – Wednesday, July 24 at 4 p.m.

Mixed Media Space Art with Eric Francis

Teen Techies - Meet Cue the Cleverbot

Teen Techies - Harry Potter Kano Coding

  • North Shreveport – Thursday, June 27 at 4 p.m.
  • Broadmoor – Thursday, July 25 at 3 p.m.
  • Mooretown – Tuesday, July 30 at 3 p.m.

Teen Techies - Raspberry Pi Retro Gaming

  • Main –  Tuesday, June 25 at 2 p.m.
  • Cedar Grove/Line Ave. –  Monday, July 8 at 3 p.m.
  • North Caddo –  Thursday, July 11 at 2 p.m.
  • West Shreveport –  Monday, July 22 at 2 p.m.
  • David Raines – Tuesday, July 30 at 3 p.m.


Adult Summer Reading Program Schedule

We will also have fun programs for adults this summer, including classes where you can learn to make 2-Ingredient Pizza Dough or painting classes, including mixed media art and watercolor. 

2-Ingredient Pizza Dough Class

  • Atkins – Friday, June 7 at 4 p.m.
  • Cedar Grove/Line Ave. –   Tuesday, June 11 at 11 a.m.
  • David Raines –  Thursday, June 20 at 11 a.m.
  • Main –  Friday, June 28 at 4 p.m.
  • Hamilton/South Caddo –  Tuesday, July 2 at 11 a.m.
  • North Shreveport –  Tuesday, July 9 at 2 p.m.
  • Wallette –  Monday, July 15 at 11 a.m.
  • Hollywood/Union Ave. –  Tuesday, July 30 at 4 p.m.

Paint the Galaxy: Mixed Media Art on Canvas with Marci Hicks

  • Broadmoor – Monday, June 3 at 5 p.m.
  • Main – Thursday, June 13 at 5 p.m.
  • Mooretown – Saturday, June 22 at noon
  • West Shreveport – Tuesday, June 25 at 5:30 p.m.

Paint the Galaxy: Paint the Moon and Sun with Karen LaBeau

  • Hamilton/South Caddo – Tuesday, June 11 at 5:30 p.m.
  • Wallette – Saturday, June 29 at 11 a.m.
  • Atkins – Friday, July 12 at 4:30 p.m.

Paint the Galaxy: Watercolor Galaxies

  • Hollywood/Union Ave. – Tuesday, July 30 at 2 p.m.